UW-Stout has joined with the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) to help celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of the conference.

The first organizational meeting of the State Normal School Conference (later to become the WIAC) was held in Madison in July 1913. The institutions represented at that meeting were Superior, River Falls, Stevens Point, La Crosse, Oshkosh, Whitewater, Platteville and Milwaukee. Stout joined the conference in 1914 followed by Eau Claire in 1917.

Milwaukee left the conference in 1964. The WIAC is the ninth oldest conference in the National Collegiate Athletic Association, which is comprised of nearly 100 conferences at the Division I, II and III levels.

The immediate predecessors of the WIAC were the Wisconsin State University Conference (WSUC) for men’s sports and the WWIAC (Wisconsin Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Conference) for women’s sports. The conferences merged in 1997.

The WIAC today consists of nine UW System schools: UW-Eau Claire, UW-La Crosse, UW-Oshkosh, UW-Platteville, UW-River Falls, UW-Stevens Point, UW-Stout, UW-Superior and UW-Whitewater.

For the centennial the WIAC has initiated a WIAC Hall of Fame. It also has selected all-time teams in sports that have been classified as championship sports at some point during the conference’s 100-year history.

Summer Outlook 2012