Alumni Outlook Magazine



UW-Stout had two former coaches-administrators and two standout athletes selected to the inaugural WIAC Hall of Fame: Ray Johnson, coach and athletic director; Max Sparger, coach and athletic director; Terry Anders, six-time national track champion; Julie Maki, All-American basketball player.

  • Johnson was athletic director for 31 years and has Johnson Fieldhouse named in his honor. He served as men’s basketball coach from 1938-56 with a 116-201 record and two WSUC titles. He also coached football from 1938-47 and directed the squad to the 1941 WSUC crown.
  • Anders was a member of the men’s track and field team from 1994-97 and claimed six NCAA Division III national titles. He was a 13-time All-American and captured 24 WSUC championships.
  • Sparger served as commissioner of the WSUC from 1971-93. At UW-Stout he was assistant football and basketball coach in 1959 and head wrestling coach from 1961-62, head football coach from 1963-69, while also coaching the track and golf teams during his tenure. The 1965 football team won the WSUC title. He served as athletic director from 1969-71. The WIAC men’s scholar-athlete award is named in his honor.
  • Maki was a member of UW-Stout’s women’s basketball team from 1990-93 and selected to the Kodak All-America First Team in 1993. She was a three-time All-WWIAC first-team selection, including player of the year in 1993.


UW-Stout landed players on 10 of the WIAC all-time teams.

Football: Tony Beckham, 1998-2001; Joe Bullis, 1975-76, 1978-79; Ben Knepper, 2000-03; Luke Bundgaard, 2000-03

Basketball: Julie Maki, 1990-93; Kelsey Duoss, 200-07; Julia Hirssig, 2007-10

Wrestling: Dale Evans, 1970-73; John Peterson, 1968-71; Corey McCauley, 1991-94

Track and Field: Terry Anders, 1994-97; Jason Lehman, 1995-98; Laura Verdegan, 2001-05; Daniel Drewek, 2008-12; Tim Nelson, 2009-12.

Gymnastics: Paul Speltz, 1981-84; Naomi DeLara, 2008-11; Meghan Hargens, 2007-10

Tennis: Rob Oertel, 1983-86

Golf: Steve Dahlby, 1987-89; Derek Holmes, 2008-10

Softball: Erin O’Connell, 2002-05; Suzanne Brion, 1994-96

Baseball: Seth Maier, 2003, 2005-07

Swimming: Wendy Heineke, 1986-89